Victorian Curriculum F-10 logo 

Introducing the curriculum

The Victorian Curriculum provides a Civics and Citizenship curriculum continuum from Levels 3-10. This curriculum is organised into three strands: Government and democracy, Laws and citizens, and Citizenship, diversity and identity.  

​Learning in Civics and Citizenship develops knowledge, understanding and skills; emphasises investigating contemporary issues and developing points of views that encourage and enable students to participate in, and contribute to Australian society as active and informed citizens. 

The Victorian Curriculum Civics and Citizenship has much in common with AusVELS Civics and Citizenship. It covers the same themes of government, law and citizenship in a multicultural society and the values and principles which underpin democracy.  There is less focus on the historical origins of Australian democracy in the Civics and Citizenship curriculum as this is now covered in the Victorian Curriculum History.

To view the Civics and Citizenship curriculum, please visit the Victorian Curriculum F–10 website.


A PowerPoint presentation outlining the key components of the Civics and Citizenship curriculum is available:

Introducing Civics and Citizenship (pptx - 317.61kb)

Contact us

Gerard Martin, Curriculum Manager
(03) 9032 1694​