• Home >
  • Health and Physical Education: Curriculum area advice
​​Victorian Curriculum F-10 logo 

Introducing the curriculum

There is much that is similar between the Health and Physical Education in the Victorian Curriculum and AusVELS, although there are differences of emphasis.

The Victorian Curriculum Health and Physical Education has two interrelated strands:  Personal, social and community health, and Movement and physical activity. This is similar to the dimensions in AusVELS, Health knowledge and promotion, and Movement and physical activity. The Victorian Curriculum further divides the strands into sub-strands.

A new aspect of the Victorian Curriculum Health and Physical Education is the twelve focus areas.

  • Alcohol and other drugs
  • Food and nutrition
  • Health benefits of physical activity
  • Mental health and wellbeing
  • Relationships and sexuality
  • Safety Active play and minor games
  • Challenge and adventure activities
  • Fundamental movement skills
  • Games and sports
  • Lifelong physical activities
  • Rhythmic and expressive movement

The focus areas provide the context through which the content descriptors and achievement standards are taught and assessed. The focus areas are not discrete topics.

The development of the Victorian Curriculum was informed by five interrelated propositions. For Victorian teachers, four of the propositions represent a significant change from AusVELS. These propositions are: take a strengths-based approach; value movement; develop health literacy; include a critical inquiry approach.

To view the Health and Physical Education curriculum, please visit the Victorian Curriculum F–10 website.


A PowerPoint presentation outlining the key components of the Health and Physical Education curriculum is available:

Introducing Health and Physical Education (pptx - 325.62kb)

 Contact us

Nerida Matthews, Curriculum Manager
(03) 9032 1721​