Victorian Curriculum F-10 logo 

Introducing the curriculum

Currently, more than 45 languages are taught in Victorian schools. The AusVELS curriculum caters for all these languages through one curriculum by grouping languages into six categories, these being Roman alphabet, Non-Roman alphabet, Character, Sign, Classical and Victorian Aboriginal Languages. There are achievement standards for each language category.

The Victorian Curriculum F-10 Languages, based on the Australian Curriculum, provides language-specific curriculums focusing on the distinctive nature of languages and the communities who use them. In addition to the specific languages offered, the VCAA has developed a curriculum for Roman and Non-Roman Alphabet languages, which will allow any world language to be offered by a Victorian school.

Some terminology has changed between AusVELS and Victorian Curriculum F-10 Languages, particularly the use of 'sequences' and 'pathways'.

A sequence in the Victorian Curriculum F-10 Languages refers to the two possible learning sequences for language learning across F–10. Each sequence has different entry points, and are typically organised into

  • F–10 sequence for students who begin to learn the language in primary school and continue to Year 10.
  • 7–10 sequence for students who begin to learn the language in Year 7.

A pathway in the Victorian Curriculum Languages refers to whether the student is a first, second or background language learner. 

All language-specific curriculums have now been published on the Victorian Curriculum F-10 website.

To view the Languages curriculum, please visit the Victorian Curriculum F–10 website.


A PowerPoint presentation outlining the key components of the Languages curriculum is available:

Introducing Languages (pptx - 319.28kb) 

Contact us

Maree Dellora, Manager, Languages Unit
(03) 9032 1692