Victorian Curriculum F-10 logo 

Introducing the curriculum

The Victorian Curriculum Arts includes six disciplines: Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, Visual Arts and Visual Communication Design. Each Arts discipline in the Victorian Curriculum has content descriptions and achievement standards, focusing on its own practices, terminology and unique ways of looking at the world. In Music, students listen to, compose and perform music in a wide range of styles from diverse cultures, times and locations. Listening underpins all music learning. Students compose and perform music using the voice, body, instruments, found sound sources, and digital technologies. As composers, they create music in different styles and forms exploring personal interests and given ideas. Students develop their ability to identify and describe, using terminology and symbols (notation), aspects of the music they listen to, compose and perform. Learning through Music is a continuous and sequential process, enabling the acquisition, development and revisiting of skills and knowledge with increasing depth and complexity

In Music, students’ exploration and understanding of the elements of music, compositional devices, musical conventions, styles and forms expands with their continued active engagement with music.

The Victorian Curriculum Arts is based on two overarching principles, students learn as artist and as audience, and through making and responding. A four strand structure has been applied to each of the Arts disciplines. For Music the four strands are Explore and Express Ideas, Practices, Present and Perform, and Respond and Interpret.

To view the Arts curriculum, please visit the Victorian Curriculum F–10 website.


A powerpoint presentation outlining the key components of the Music curriculum is available:

Introducing Music (pptx - 313.39kb)

Contact us

Helen Champion, Curriculum Manager
(03) 9032 1723