Victorian Curriculum F-10 logo 

​​Introducing the curriculum

The Victorian Curriculum Arts includes six disciplines: Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, Visual Arts and Visual Communication Design. Each Arts discipline in the Victorian Curriculum has content descriptions and achievement standards, focusing on its own practices, terminology and unique ways of looking at the world.

In Visual Communication Design, students develop the skills and practice to communicate ideas and messages in visual communications. Visual communication design practice includes the use of design thinking skills and design as a process. Drawing conventions and the use of design elements and principles are the primary components of the visual language that students use to represent concepts, in relation to a specific purpose and audience. Students investigate the work and practices of a range of Australian and international designers, from different times, places and cultures.

Students explore the practices of a diversity of designers and investigate the role of visual communication design in different societies, cultures and contexts, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures.

The inclusion of the Visual Communication Design Levels 7–10 reflects a particular Victorian approach to the Arts; ensuring students have the necessary content and skills to pursue further study in this discipline in senior secondary years.

The Victorian Curriculum Arts is based on two overarching principles, students learn as artist and as audience, and through making and responding. A four strand structure has been applied to each of the Arts disciplines. For Visual Communication Design, the four strands are Explore and Represent Ideas, Practices, Present and Perform, and Respond and Interpret.

To view the Arts curriculum, please visit the Victorian Curriculum F–10 website.


A powerpoint presentation outlining the key components of the Visual Communication Design curriculum is available:

Introducing Visual Communication Design (pptx - 318.44kb)

Contact us

Kathy Hendy-Eckers, Curriculum Manager
(03) 9032 1697​