Where to Now book cover

Where to Now? 2018 is available in other formats:

  • Home >
  • Where To Now? - Glossary


These are some of the terms used throughout Where To Now? 2018 and how they relate to the VCE, VCAL and VET.

Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR)

This is the overall ranking on a scale of 0.00 to 99.95 that you receive, based on your study scores. The ATAR is calculated by VTAC and used by universities and TAFE institutes to select students for their courses. (The ATAR used to be called an ENTER.)

Department of Education and Training (DET)

The Victorian government department that administers school education, apprenticeships and traineeships.

General Achievement Test (GAT)

The test that is completed by all students studying a VCE Unit 3 and 4 study or a scored VCE VET Unit 3 and 4 study.


What you are expected to know and be able to do by the time you have finished a VCE unit.

Registered training organisation (RTO)

An institution that has been approved by the Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority (VRQA) or Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) to deliver and issue VET qualifications.

Satisfactory completion

This means you have achieved the outcomes for the unit. You receive an S for the satisfactory completion of a unit. If you do not satisfactorily complete a unit, you receive an N for it.


Half of the academic year. A semester is around 20 weeks in length (across two school terms). Most units last for one semester. In the VCE, Unit 3 is completed in the first semester and Unit 4 is completed in the second semester.

Statement of Attainment

A record of recognised learning that may contribute towards a qualification in the VET sector.

Statement of Results

A set of documents that formally state the results you received in the VCE or VCAL, and whether you have been awarded the relevant certificate.


The subjects available in the VCE.

Study score

A score between 0 and 50, showing how you performed in a VCE study or scored VCE VET program, relative to all other students doing that same study. It is calculated using the scores achieved in each of the three graded assessments for the study.

Technical and further education (TAFE)

TAFE institutes offer a range of mainly vocational tertiary education courses up to the level of advanced diploma.

Units (VCAL)

Accredited units in Literacy and Numeracy Skills, Industry Specific Skills, Personal Development Skills and Work Related Skills that contribute towards the VCAL.

Units (VCE)

The parts of a study in the VCE. There are usually four units in a study: Units 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA)

The Victorian government agency responsible to the Minister for Education for the management of the VCE and VCAL.

Vocational Education and Training (VET)

This refers to nationally recognised VET qualifications.

Victorian Tertiary Admissions Centre (VTAC)

VTAC is responsible for calculating and distributing the ATAR and for processing student applications for tertiary entrance to universities, TAFE institutes and other Further Education colleges.

Authorised and published by the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority
Level 7, 2 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne VIC 3000

ISBN 978-1-925264-94-4

© Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority 2017

No part of this publication may be reproduced except as specified under the Copyright Act 1968 or by permission from the VCAA. For more information go here.

The VCAA provides the only official, up-to-date versions of VCAA publications. Details of updates can be found on the VCAA website.

This publication may contain copyright material belonging to a third party. Every effort has been made to contact all copyright owners. If you believe that material in this publication is an infringement of your copyright, please email the Copyright Officer

Copyright in materials appearing at any sites linked to this document rests with the copyright owner/s of those materials, subject to the Copyright Act. The VCAA recommends you refer to copyright statements at linked sites before using such materials.

The VCAA logo is a registered trademark of the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority.


Back to Top