Victorian Curriculum F-10 logo 

Introducing the curriculum​

Spanish is spoken by approximately 500 million people across the world. Spanish evolved from Latin on the Iberian Peninsula in around the ninth century and spread from Spain to the Caribbean and to North, Central and South America as a result of the expeditions of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. The language has been enriched by many other languages, including Arabic, Basque, Greek, French, English and the indigenous languages of the Americas.

Today, most Spanish-speaking countries are plurilingual, and the indigenous languages of these countries – such as the Guaraní language of Paraguay, and Quechua, Aymara and more than 30 other languages in Bolivia – are co-official with Spanish. Spain also has other official languages besides Spanish, including Catalan, Galician and Basque/Euskera.

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 Spanish has two interrelated strands, Communicating and Understanding, which are further divided into sub-strands. The Spanish curriculum recognises that there are different entry points into language learning across F–10, which reflects current language teaching practice.

There are two possible learning sequences:

  • F–10 sequence for students who begin to learn the language in primary school and continue to Year 10.
  • 7–10 sequence for students who begin to learn the language in Year 7.

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 Spanish curriculum is available here, on the Victorian Curriculum F–10 website.


A PowerPoint presentation outlining the key components of the Victorian Curriculum F–10 Languages is available: Introducing Languages (pptx - 323.24kb).

Frequently asked questions

Please refer to the frequently asked questions for Languages.

Contact us

Maree Dellora, Manager, Languages Unit
(03) 9032 1692