Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In Skip to Content


National Assessment Program - Literacy and Numeracy Testing (NAPLAN)

The VCAA is responsible for the National Assessment Program - Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) in Victoria.

NAPLAN is a national assessment for students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9, that is undertaken every year in early May.

NAPLAN is made up of tests in four areas (or ‘domains’):

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Language Conventions (spelling, grammar and punctuation)
  • Numeracy

The results of the tests provide information for students, parents, teachers and principals about student achievement which can be used to inform teaching and learning programs. NAPLAN tests provide point-in-time information regarding student progress in literacy and numeracy and are intended to complement teacher judgement and the wide range of formal and informal testing programs that are already used in schools. As with all single assessments, NAPLAN test results are not intended to be used in isolation from other school-based assessment programs.

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) has responsibility for the central management of the NAPLAN and a Test Administration Authority (TAA) in each state or territory is responsible for the implementation of the tests.

The VCAA is the TAA for all Victorian schools and school sectors.