Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In Skip to Content

The VCAL has four curriculum areas, called strands. These strands are:

  • Literacy and numeracy skills
  • Industry specific skills
  • Work related skills
  • Personal development skills.

VCAL units are designed to meet the purpose of the strand to which they contribute credit to. Each VCAL unit contains accredited learning outcomes that must be satisfactorily completed in order to meet the requirements of that unit. Each VCAL unit is 100 nominal hours in length. The satisfactory completion of each unit contributes one credit towards the VCAL at the appropriate award level.

For further information about VCAL, contact the VCAL unit.







Note: There are no VCAL curriculum units within the Industry specific skills strand. At the Intermediate and Senior level of the VCAL, curriculum selected for this strand must be drawn from nationally recognised VET certificates or selected VET units/modules within FE certificates.