Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In Skip to Content

Traralgon student named 2019 VCE Leader of the Year

VCE Leaderships finalists

L to R: Sophie-Kate Shaw, Maiysha Moin,
Lincoln Ingravalle, Ellie Jones, Maya Ghassali
and Lachlan Warwick

Lincoln Ingravalle from Lavalla Catholic College in Traralgon topped a field of six inspirational young Victorians to be named VCE Leader of the Year at the 2019 VCE Leadership Awards ceremony, held at Parliament House in Melbourne on Wednesday 18 September 2019.

Lincoln demonstrated his outstanding leadership through his work as Latrobe City Council Youth Mayor, promoting positive mental health and child protection in his community of Traralgon.

As part of his work with the Council, Lincoln organised visits to local schools to talk to students about mental health.

‘We talked about mental health and the services that were out there, and let them know that they are not alone,’ Lincoln said.

‘We are privileged to be part of the mental health conversation, it has existed since the dawn of time, but now we can start addressing it and making a real change.’

Lincoln also volunteered in Timor-Leste as a United Nations Youth Australia Delegate, teaching English in schools.

‘I was extremely fortunate to be part of the delegation,’ Lincoln said.

‘Having conversations with people who face circumstances that many of us here in Australia could never imagine, and to be able to help them with their English, was small gift for what they gave us – the life experience and motivation to wake up every morning and be grateful for what we have.’

He said it was an honour to be named the VCE Leader of the Year.

‘This award doesn’t belong to just one person, it belongs to all six of us and any inspiring leader in this State … and any young person who is impassioned and believes in making change,’ Lincoln said.

‘This award is also to all those who inspire us every day to be the people we are.’

The VCE Leadership Awards recognise outstanding students who have made significant contributions to their schools and communities by demonstrating initiative, inspiring others, working well in a team and being committed to making a difference.

Joining Lincoln at the ceremony were the five other 2019 VCE Leadership Award recipients: Lachlan Warwick from Ballarat Grammar, Maya Ghassali from Gleneagles Secondary College, Ellie Jones from Cobram Secondary College, Sophie-Kate Shaw from Terang College and Maiysha Moin from Fintona Girls’ School.

They participated in and initiated a range of activities and campaigns, including a program to support victims of family violence, a podcast highlighting stories of asylum seekers and fundraising activities to support drought-stricken farmers in south-west Victoria.

The annual VCE Leadership Awards are open to students from government, Catholic and independent schools.

All VCE Leaders received prizes donated by technology company, Lenovo, a long-time supporter of the awards.